Indlovu iyanyathela loses players to PSL club

Raymond Jaravaza
ZIFA Southern Region army side Indlovu Iyanyathela have lost four players to ambitious Premier Soccer League club Bulawayo Chiefs, who will be playing for a second straight season in the Premiership this year.

“We are a junior development club and it’s satisfying to us when PSL clubs show interest in our players. Four of our players have joined Bulawayo Chiefs and we wish them all the best in their careers with a team that plays top-flight football,” Indlovu Iyanyathela team manager Blessing Mbwanda told B-Metro Sport.

Brandon Mpofu who had a brief trial stint in Cyprus last year, striker Tafadzwa Dhliwayo, former How Mine FC player Nqobile Ndlovu and ex-Binga High School youngster Matriple Mleya are now in the Bulawayo Chiefs books.

The Zimbabwe National Army (ZNA) side has scheduled trials for next week at their home ground — Mzilikazi Barracks — to bolster their squad ahead of the new season.

A limited number of non-ZNA member trialists will be considered for the final 30-player provisional squad that will be registered with the Zifa Southern Region league.

“We need about seven players that are not in the army to register for the 2019 season squad so we expect competition for places to be tough during the trials. The total squad will have 30 players including five Under-20 players in line with the requirements of the league,” he said.

Indlovu Iyanyathela was one of the six teams that attended a two-day First Division seminar on Fifa/ Caf Club Licensing tenets last week.

The Zifa Southern Region has proposed March 30 as the kick-off date for the 2019 Division One season.

The league wants to run an 18-team league and welcomes Bulawayo City from the Premiership after relegating two sides, NRZ Leopards and ZRP Bulawayo Province last season.

Affiliation fees for newly promoted clubs has been pegged at $2 500, while old teams pay $2 000.

These fees exclude players and technical team members’ registration.

The registration for each player is $20, meaning $500 for a squad of 25 players and $250 for five technical team members.

The four newly promoted teams hoping to make a mark in the First Division are Ajax Hotspurs and Arenel from Bulawayo as well as Nengasha Stars and Binga Pirates from Zifa Matabeleland North Division Two.