Hold on, the sky is still blue

Fungai Muderere
HAIL DeMbare!

The Harare giants Dynamos have been a better a�?feel good pilla�? for football supporters in Zimbabwe since 1992 because they have won more league matches that any other club.

Highlanders and Caps United who complete the football aristocracy come second and third respectively.

As of last week DeMbare had played 719 league games while Bosso and Makepekepe were a match shy after dating against Chicken Inn and FC PlatinumA�A� respectively.

So far Dynamos have collected the most points with 1 304 points from 719 matches. Highlanders are second with 1 287 points and Caps United are third with 1 213points.

Despite their rocky start to the 2016 season, the Glamour Boys as Dynamos are fancied, have the most goals scored-1 135 which gives them an average of over a goal per match.

1996 was the most prolific scoring season for Dynamos when they scored 79.

The 1996 Dynamos 79 goal tally in one seasonA� still stands to date as the highest goal tally. They only came close to equaling their record the following year when they hit 78.

The class of 2010, is Dynamosa�� best defensive side conceding a paltry 13goals.

They beat the record that was held by the championship winning Highlanders FC Class of 2002 that conceded 14.

The Dynamos class of 1997 has the least defeats inside a season, they had two defeats all season.A� The Caps United Class of 2004 has the record after only a single defeat the whole season.

The highest point tally by Highlanders in a league season is 72points (1998/1999) and DeMbare are second to that with 71 points that they amassed in 2007. Bosso achieved this feat by a goal comparison statistics of 41scored against 26 conceded. DeMbare meanwhile have eclipsed this scoring an impressive 46 against 20 with seven games to go.

The calculator indicates that this season if DeMbare win all their remaining seven matches they will take their tally to 78 points with an even higher goal comparison statistic.

After clinching the PSL league title in 1994, Dynamos has managed to claim seven more titles to make it eight in total. Highlanders are second with six titles and Caps United with three.

Bosso and Makepekepe have gone for 10 years without winning the PSL trophy.A� Caps last lifted the trophy in 2005 when they were under the guidance of Charles Mhlauri.

In that year, DeMbare finished season on their worst ever position, nine. Highlanders last won the league in 2006 when the team was under the tutelage of their former player Methembe a�?Mayora�? Ndlovu.

After claiming the trophy in 1997, DeMbare also had to endure a 10 year lean spell that saw them clinch the title in 2007.

After claiming the trophy in 1997, DeMbare also had to endure a 10 year lean spell that saw them clinch the title in 2007.

Dynamos, Highlanders and Caps are the only PSL teams that have managed to defend their titles.

However, only Dynamos and Highlanders have managed to win the title four times on the trot.